Skip to content

2020 - Stribling and Chattopadhyay receive 2020 Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award

Tags: Accomplishment | Faculty Profile
Published 04/27/2020
2020 Orrin G. Thompson Winners

2020 Orrin G. Thompson Winners

Associate Professor II of English as a Second Language Colleen Stribling and Physics Unit Adjunct Faculty Member Soma Chattopadhyay were recently recognized with the 2020 Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award from Elgin Community College.

Stribling received the full-time faculty award and Chattopadhyay received the part-time faculty award. Chattopadhyay previously won this award in 2017.

The Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award recognizes and honors individual faculty members who have made the greatest contribution to the learning environment of ECC, are dedicated to the successes of students and exemplify and strengthen the college’s shared values of excellence, freedom of inquiry, equity, ethical practices, accountability, respect for diversity and community engagement.

“ECC has the great fortune of having innovative, committed faculty members who are raising the bar for community colleges across the state,” said Peggy Heinrich, vice president of teaching, learning and student development. “They bring innovation and a deep commitment to student success to the classroom, ensuring students are prepared to meet the challenges of today's workforce.”

Each year, employees, students and community associates of ECC are invited to nominate outstanding faculty for the award. Thirteen full- and part-time faculty were nominated this year.

Stribling and Chattopadhyay have been nominated for the Illinois Community College Trustees Association (ICCTA) Outstanding Faculty Member Award, which will be announced in early May.

Professor of Digital Technologies Heidi Eaton won the 2019 Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award for full-time faculty and Helen DiNardo, health professions adjunct faculty member won the part-time faculty award.