Greg Wheaton and Jane Maas receive 2018 Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award

  • Tags: Achievements
Published 03/14/2018
Greg Wheaton and Jane Maas

Greg Wheaton and Jane Maas

Assistant Professor of Mathematics Greg Wheaton and Dental Assisting Unit Adjunct Faculty member Jane Maas were recognized with the 2018 Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award during Elgin Community College’s annual Employee Awards and Recognition reception on Thursday, May 17.

Wheaton received the full-time faculty award and Maas received the part-time faculty award.

"These two exemplary faculty members illustrate the high quality of instruction students can expect to receive at ECC,” said Peggy Heinrich, vice president of teaching, learning, and student development. “They bring innovation and a deep commitment to student success to the classroom, ensuring students are prepared to meet the challenges of today's workforce.”

The Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award recognizes and honors individual faculty members who have made the greatest contribution to the learning environment of ECC, are dedicated to the successes of students, and exemplify and strengthen the college’s shared values of excellence, freedom of inquiry, equity, ethical practices, accountability, respect for diversity and community engagement.

Each year, employees, students, and community associates of ECC are invited to nominate outstanding faculty for the award.

The winners are then nominated for the Illinois Community College Trustees Association (ICCTA) Outstanding Faculty Member Award.

Assistant Professor of Culinary Arts and Hospitality Patrick Stewart won the 2017 Orrin G. Thompson Teaching Excellence Award for full-time faculty and Physics Unit Adjunct Faculty member Soma Chattopadhyay, PhD, won the 2017 part-time faculty award.