ECC In the News

News Releases

Elgin Community College across Lake Spartan
Academics | Achievements
Published 01/19/2022

ECC Recognizes Fall 2021 Academic Scholars

2,594 students were named to an academic honor list for the fall 2021 semester.

ECC Nursing students administered vaccines to seniors during a February vaccine clinic hosted at ECC
Announcement | Events
Published 01/14/2022

Pre-registration required for upcoming vaccine clinics at ECC

Elgin Community College has joined in the effort to stop the spread of COVID-19 as a participating college in the White House and U.S. Department of Education COVID-19 College Vaccination Challenge. As part of this pledge, ECC is helping to increase ease and access to vaccines through its upcoming vaccination clinics to be held on Friday, Jan. 21 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Wednesday, Jan. 26 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. in the Building K, East Lobby.

ECC Arts Center's American Grands Showcase
Arts Center | Events
Published 01/14/2022

American Grands returns to the ECC Arts Center on Jan. 22

On Saturday, January 22, the Elgin Community College Arts Center presents the live return of American Grands, celebrating its 27th year of performances. Pianists of all ages will gather for performances featuring music from recent movies, popular classic themes, Latin music, and more. Performance times are at 2 p.m. and 6 p.m.

Elgin Community College across Lake Spartan
Academics | Announcement
Published 01/10/2022

ECC postpones the start of classes to January 24

In light of the rising COVID-19 infection rates and the state of Illinois’ guidance, ECC will delay the start of classes until Monday, January 24.

IST apprentices look at machinery
Announcement | Events | Training
Published 01/10/2022

ECC, Smithfield Foods to Sign First Cohort of Student Apprentices

ECC and Smithfield Foods, Inc. have partnered to offer a new maintenance technician apprenticeship program, designed to provide hands-on engineering and mechanical training to Smithfield employees at the company’s Bolingbrook, Monmouth, and St. Charles facilities as they work toward an Associate of Applied Science (AAS) – Integrated Systems/Maintenance Technology degree from ECC.

Elgin Community College across Lake Spartan
Announcement | Board of Trustees
Published 01/06/2022

ECC Seeks Trustee Candidates for Appointment due to Vacancy

The Board of Trustees of Community College District 509, Elgin Community College, announces a vacancy on the Board of Trustees due to the resignation of Jeffrey A. Meyer, JD. Under Illinois law, the board will appoint a trustee to fill the vacant seat from December 17, 2021, until the next consolidated election on Tuesday, April 4, 2023.

Recruitment Coordinator Jerrmiah Wright
Academics | Announcement | Student Resources
Published 01/05/2022

ECC Student Services offers weekend hours for enrollment assistance

Extended business hours will be available at Elgin Community College to support students with enrollment for ECC’s spring semester, which begins Tuesday, Jan. 18. There is still time to register for spring classes. Classes are offered online, in-person and in hybrid (online learning and in-person instruction) formats.

Michael Ingersoll and Christopher Kale Jones
Arts Center | Events
Published 12/15/2021

Under the Streetlamp Alumni return to the ECC Arts Center on Dec. 18 and 19 in “Jingle Bell Rock”

Elgin Community College Arts Center presents “Jingle Bell Rock” with nationally recognized performers Michael Ingersoll and Christopher Kale Jones on Saturday, December 18 at 7 p.m. and Sunday, December 19 at 3 p.m. The performances will be in the Blizzard Theater located in Building H on the Spartan Drive Campus, 1700 Spartan Drive, Elgin.