President's Office

Welcome from the President

David Sam

The learning advantage you want and need is at ECC. We are the community resource you have counted on to improve lives through learning since 1949.

As the world becomes more interdependent and culturally diverse, a solid education holds the best promise for success. Whether you are preparing for a new career, upgrading and enhancing your skills, or gaining credits toward a four-year degree, ECC is primed to meet your needs and exceed your expectations.

With competent and caring faculty and nationally accredited educational programs, you can achieve your goals and experience the learning advantage your community college education provides you in a competitive job market.

I encourage you to visit our site often and visit our campus soon. Share the ECC experience with us and let us assist you in preparing for your future.

Best regards,

David Sam, PhD, JD, LLM

President's Bio

Dr. David Sam began his tenure on February 12, 2007, as the eighth president of Elgin Community College.

Dr. Sam has outstanding professional career experience. His previous appointment was as president of North Harris College in Houston, Texas, where he was responsible for one of the five colleges and two satellite centers in the Lone Star College System, formerly known as North Harris Montgomery Community College District. Prior to his presidency in Houston, he was dean of the community and technical college and a professor of social science and business management at the University of Akron, Ohio. He previously served as vice president for faculty and instruction at Harrisburg Area Community College in Pennsylvania and acting vice president for academic affairs and dean of natural and social sciences at Mott Community College in Michigan. Additionally, Dr. Sam has held professional and teaching positions at the College of DuPage and Harold Washington College, both in Illinois.

Dr. Sam is well-versed in the complexities of funding educational facilities while maintaining quality in the classroom. Students are a top priority. He believes in the transformational power of education to enhance and change lives and says, “The world is so interdependent that we have to ensure that education is relevant and that students are ready for this kind of world. To that end, I enjoy working with all constituencies to advance the mission of the college."

A native of Ghana, West Africa, Dr. Sam has impressive academic credentials. He is a cum laude graduate of Illinois State University with a bachelor of arts degree in economics, political science, and history. He holds an MA in law and diplomacy and a PhD in international economic and political relations from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University. Additionally, he holds an MBA in finance and marketing from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University and a JD degree from the University of Akron Law School, and an LLM, Energy Law and Policy, Center for Energy, Petroleum and Mineral Law and Policy at the University of Dundee, United Kingdom.

Dr. Sam is currently a member of the board of directors of the Elgin Area Chamber of Commerce, Alignment for Collaborative Education, the Golden Corridor Family YMCA, and a member of the Rotary Club of Elgin. He is also a member of the District of Columbia Bar, American Bar Association, and Energy Bar Association.

President's Cabinet

  1. Vice President of Teaching, Learning & Student Development, Peggy Heinrich
  2. Vice President of Business & Finance, Kimberly Wagner
  3. Vice President of Planning, Institutional Effectiveness & Technology, Philip Garber
  4. Chief Human Resources Officer, Anthony Ray
  5. Chief Marketing & Communications Officer, Toya Webb
  6. Managing Director of Community Engagement & Legislative Affairs, Lourdes "Lulu" Blacksmith
  7. Executive Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, Anthony Ramos
  8. Executive Director of Institutional Advancement & ECC Foundation, David Davin
  9. Chief of Police, David Kintz
  10. General Counsel, Respicio Vazquez
  11. Senior Executive Assistant to the President, Diane Kerruish